Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
ENGLISH  |  FRANÇAIS
 
 
SHARE: twt fb linkedin
 
APRIL 2018
 
IN BRIEF
 
 
THE PARTNERSHIP PARTICIPATES IN EXTERNAL REVIEW OF THE PAN-CANADIAN HEALTH ORGANIZATIONS

The Canadian Partnership Against Cancer wishes to thank external advisors Drs. Pierre-Gerlier Forest and Danielle Martin for the thorough and thoughtful analysis of the pan-Canadian health organizations. In the next weeks and months, we will take the time to reflect wholesomely on the report and to review the recommendations in greater detail. We appreciate the support provided by the advisors, the Minister and Health Canada during the review process and will continue our shared efforts to position the system to meet the future health needs of Canadians.

Read more
 
 
 
 
THE FUTURE OF THE CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP FOR TOMORROW PROJECT

In case you missed the announcement, The University of Toronto's Dalla Lana School of Public Health will be the new national scientific partner of the Canadian Partnership for Tomorrow Project (CPTP), with the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR) as a key strategic partner. To learn about more about the future vision for CPTP, read this question and answer (Q&A) with CPTP's newly appointed National Scientific Director, Dr. Philip Awadalla.
 
Read more
 
 
A FRESH LOOK AT THE PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICE OF SCREENING FOR DISEASE
 
 
In 1968, Wilson and Jungner published the Principles and Practice of Screening for Disease, which identified 10 principles that should be considered before a screening programme is implemented. After nearly 50 years of use, these principles continue to guide complex population-based screening decisions. In a recent edition of CMAJ, Dobrow and colleagues have updated these same principles based on a systematic review and consensus process.

Read more
 
 
GRIEF AND LOSS SUPPORT AVAILABLE AMID THE HUMBOLDT TRAGEDY
 
In a month of heartbreaking tragedy, many acts of goodwill have spread far and wide for those affected by the Humboldt bus crash. With the support of Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale, the Saskatchewan Health Authority, PARTNERS Family Services, and many others, Canadian Virtual Hospice (CVH) delivered more than ten thousand grief and bereavement support resources to funeral and memorial services across Saskatchewan.

CVH's efforts were supported by many – from the shops in Saskatoon and Winnipeg who printed and delivered materials at no cost – to the couriers who cut their delivery times in half. We saw communities band together to show support for the lives lost, for those still in recovery, and for all those touched by this event. Our thoughts are with you.

 
Read more
 
 
 
NEW STUDY EXAMINES THE BENEFITS OF CONNECTED HEALTH INFORMATION
 
Canada Health Infoway commissioned a study to better understand the benefits of connected health information. The study found significant financial and time saving benefits of interoperable electronic health records, (iEHRs) including a reduction in wait times and unnecessary medical appointments, better use of emergency departments, and more effective interactions within ambulatory care settings.
 
Read more
 
 
MEASURING ACCESS TO HOME CARE, MENTAL HEALTH AND ADDICTION SERVICES IN CANADA: NEW REPORT
 
 
What is the best way to measure access to mental health and addiction services, and to home and community health care programs for Canadians? Together with federal, provincial and territorial governments, the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) has developed a set of pan-Canadian indicators to measure access to services in these priority sectors. Starting in 2019, CIHI will report annually on the selected indicators, based on available data.

Read more
 
 
 
 
Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
14‌5 Ki‌ng Stre‌et We‌st, Su‌ite 90‌0 To‌ronto, Ont‌ario M‌5H 1J‌8
Email: info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
Unsubscribe  |  Privacy policy  |  Subscribe

Production of this publication has been made possible through a financial contribution from
Health Canada, through the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer. The views expressed herein
represent the views of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
FRANÇAIS  |  ENGLISH
 
 
PARTAGER: twt fb linkedin
 
AVRIL 2018
 
EN BREF
 
 
PARTICIPATION DU PARTENARIAT À UN EXAMEN EXTERNE DES ORGANISATIONS PANCANADIENNES DE SANTÉ

Le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer tient à remercier les docteurs Pierre-Gerlier Forest et Danielle Martin, conseillers externes, pour leur analyse exhaustive et approfondie des organisations pancanadiennes de santé. Au cours des semaines et des mois à venir, nous prendrons le temps de bien réfléchir au rapport et d'étudier plus en détail les recommandations. Nous apprécions le soutien apporté par les conseillers, la ministre et Santé Canada au cours du processus d'examen, et nous poursuivrons nos efforts communs visant à permettre au système de répondre aux besoins futurs des Canadiens en matière de santé.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
 
 
L'AVENIR DU PROJET DE PARTENARIAT CANADIEN ESPOIR POUR DEMAIN

Au cas où vous auriez manqué l'annonce, la Dalla Lana School of Public Health de l'Université de Toronto sera le nouveau partenaire scientifique national du Projet de partenariat canadien Espoir pour demain (PPCED), et l'Institut ontarien de recherche sur le cancer (IORC) en sera un partenaire stratégique clé. Pour en savoir plus sur la vision future du PPCED, lisez la série de questions et de réponses (Q et R) avec le Dr Philip Awadalla, nouveau directeur scientifique national du PPCED.
 
PLUS D'INFO
 
 
UN REGARD NOUVEAU SUR LES PRINCIPES ET LA PRATIQUE DU DÉPISTAGE DES MALADIES
 
 
En 1968, Wilson et Jungner ont publié l'ouvrage intitulé Principes et pratique du dépistage des maladies, dans lequel ils ont recensé 10 principes à prendre en compte avant la mise en œuvre d'un programme de dépistage. Après près de 50 ans d'utilisation, ces principes continuent d'orienter les décisions complexes en matière de dépistage au sein de la population. Dans un numéro récent du CMAJ, Dobrow et ses collaborateurs ont mis à jour ces mêmes principes en se fondant sur un examen systématique et sur un processus consensuel.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
OFFRE D'UN SOUTIEN AU DEUIL ET À LA PERTE EN LIEN AVEC LA TRAGÉDIE DE HUMBOLDT
 
En ce mois marqué par une tragédie bouleversante, les actes de bonne volonté se sont multipliés pour venir en aide à ceux qui ont été touchés par l'accident d'autocar dont ont été victimes les Broncos de Humboldt. Avec le soutien de Ralph Goodale, ministre de la Sécurité publique, de la Saskatchewan Health Authority, de PARTNERS Family Services, et de bien d'autres encore, le Portail canadien en soins palliatifs (PCSP) a distribué plus de 10 000 ressources de soutien au deuil et à la perte à des services funéraires et commémoratifs partout en Saskatchewan.

 
Depuis les magasins de Saskatoon et Winnipeg qui ont imprimé et livré de la documentation gratuitement jusqu'aux messagers qui ont divisé par deux leurs délais de livraison, nous avons vu des collectivités s'unir afin de témoigner leur soutien à l'égard des vies perdues, de ceux qui étaient encore en voie de rétablissement, et de toutes les personnes touchées par cet événement. Nos pensées vous accompagnent.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
 
UNE NOUVELLE ÉTUDE SE PENCHE SUR LES AVANTAGES DE L'INFORMATION DE SANTÉ CONNECTÉE
 
Inforoute Santé du Canada a commandité une étude visant à mieux comprendre les avantages de l'information de santé connectée. L'étude a mis au jour des avantages importants en ce qui a trait aux gains de temps et aux retombées financières en lien avec les dossiers de santé électroniques interopérables (DSEi), notamment une réduction des temps d'attente et du nombre de rendez-vous médicaux non nécessaires, un meilleur usage des soins d'urgence, et des interactions plus efficaces en milieu ambulatoire.
 
PLUS D'INFO
 
 
MESURER L'ACCÈS AUX SERVICES À DOMICILE AINSI QU'AUX SERVICES EN SANTÉ MENTALE ET EN TOXICOMANIE AU CANADA : NOUVEAU RAPPORT
 
 
Quelle est la meilleure façon de mesurer l'accès aux services en santé mentale et en toxicomanie, ainsi qu'aux programmes de soins à domicile et de soins communautaires au Canada? En collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé (ICIS) a élaboré un ensemble d'indicateurs pancanadiens afin de mesurer l'accès aux services dans ces secteurs prioritaires. À partir de 2019, l'ICIS produira des rapports annuels sur les indicateurs choisis, en se fondant sur les données existantes.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
 
 
 
Partenariat canadien contre le cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
14‌5 ru‌e Ki‌ng Oue‌st, bur‌eau 90‌0 To‌ronto (Ont‌ario) M‌5H 1J‌8 info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
 
Désabonnement  |  Politique de confidentialité  |  S'abonner

La production de cette publication fut rendue possible grâce à une contribution financière de
Santé Canada, par l'intermédiaire du Partenariat contre le cancer. Les opinions exprimées dans
le présent document sont celles du Partenariat contre le cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER