Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
ENGLISH  |  FRANÇAIS
 
 
SHARE: twt fb linkedin
 
 
NOVEMBER 2017
 
IN BRIEF
 
 
DESIGNING HEALTHY LIVING IN CANADA: NEW REPORT FROM CANADA'S CHIEF PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICER
 
Chief Public Health Officer, Dr. Theresa Tam, released The Report on the State of Public Health in Canada 2017: Designing Healthy Living. The report uses a multidisciplinary and evidence-based approach to explore the role of the built environment in public health.

Dr. Tam identifies six calls-to-action to encourage smarter and more collaborative approaches to infrastructure planning. The report also includes a profile on Healthy Canada by Design, a project funded through the Partnership's Coalitions Linking Action and Science for Prevention (CLASP) initiative. Healthy Canada by Design leveraged networking, collaboration and knowledge exchange to support the design and development of healthy communities across Canada.

Read more
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
THE IMPACT OF PATIENT-PROVIDER COMMUNICATION ON THE CANADIAN PATIENT EXPERIENCE: SURVEY RESULTS
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
The Partnership published The experience of patients with cancer during diagnosis and treatment planning: a descriptive study of Canadian survey results in the latest edition of Current Oncology.

Using survey data from 8 provinces, findings suggest the experiences of patients with cancer could be improved in several areas. Study findings point to a need for clinicians to identify and address the emotional needs of patients during the
diagnosis phase, including making proper referrals to support services. Enabling open discussion with patients about treatment options and addressing practical concerns and potential barriers to treatment, is critical. Lastly, continued reporting about the patient experience at the system level allows for a better understanding of how well the cancer control system is delivering high-quality care.
 
Read more
 
 
NEW GRIEF SUPPORT RESOURCE LAUNCHES ON CANADA'S FIRST ANNUAL NATIONAL BEREAVEMENT DAY
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
On November 21, Canadian Virtual Hospice marked the first annual National Bereavement Day with the launch of KidsGrief.ca, a national initiative to help parents, guardians and caregivers discuss death and dying with children.

KidsGrief.ca is a free, bilingual online resource that addresses these, and other difficult topics, and provides practical strategies, talking points, and video clips of families sharing personal stories.
 
The tool was developed with funding from the Canadian Internet Registration Authority and Hope & Cope. It builds on MyGrief.ca, an online resource for grieving adults launched by the Canadian Virtual Hospice in 2016, with funding from the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer.
 
Read more
 
 
‘CITIES DRIVING CHANGE' AT THE 2017 WORLD CANCER LEADERS' SUMMIT
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
The World Cancer Leaders' Summit, organized by the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), was held 13-15 November 2017 in Mexico City, organized around the theme ‘Cities driving change.' Key decision-makers from around the world explored how to partner with cities to meet global commitments related to cancer prevention and care by 2025.

The Summit built on growing momentum for coordinated, global
responses to cancer, following the adoption of the cancer resolution at the 2017 World Health Assembly – the decision-making body of the World Health Organization – and the inclusion of non-communicable disease targets in the 2015-2030 Sustainable Development Goals, spearheaded by the United Nations.
 
Read more
 
 
WHAT ARE THE OPTIMAL FIT THRESHOLDS FOR COLORECTAL CANCER SCREENING IN CANADA?
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
An article published in the Journal of Cancer Policy evaluates the health and economic impacts of various colorectal cancer screening scenarios. The report shows lowering immunochemical faecal testing (FIT) thresholds may reduce cancer incidence and mortality, while improving the cost-effectiveness of organized colorectal cancer screening. However, lower FIT thresholds will place increased pressure on colonoscopy resources, especially in the short term. Findings are based on projections from OncoSim – a microsimulation modelling tool used to explore cancer control policy alternatives.

Read more
 
 
Our lease is up! | The partnership is on the move
 
 
Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
14‌5 Ki‌ng Stre‌et We‌st, Su‌ite 90‌0 To‌ronto, Ont‌ario M‌5H 1J‌8
Email: info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
Unsubscribe  |  Privacy policy  |  Subscribe

Production of this publication has been made possible through a financial contribution from
Health Canada, through the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer. The views expressed herein
represent the views of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
FRANÇAIS  |  ENGLISH
 
 
PARTAGER: twt fb linkedin
 
 
NOVEMBRE 2017
 
IN BRIEF
 
 
CONCEVOIR UN MODE DE VIE SAIN AU CANADA : UN NOUVEAU RAPPORT DE L'ADMINISTRATRICE EN CHEF DE LA SANTÉ PUBLIQUE DU CANADA
 
L'administratrice en chef de la santé publique, la Dre Theresa Tam, a publié un rapport intitulé Rapport sur l'état de la santé publique au Canada, 2017 : Concevoir un mode de vie sain. Le rapport utilise une approche multidisciplinaire et fondée sur des données probantes pour explorer le rôle des cadres bâtis dans la santé publique.

La Dre Tam recense six appels à l'action visant à encourager l'adoption d'approches plus intelligentes et davantage axées sur la collaboration relativement à la planification d'infrastructures. Le rapport comprend également un profil sur Bâtir un Canada en santé, un projet financé dans le cadre de l'initiative Connaissances et actions liées pour une meilleure prévention (COALITION) du Partenariat. Bâtir un Canada en santé a mis à profit le réseautage, la collaboration et l'échange de connaissances pour soutenir la conception et le développement de collectivités en santé partout au Canada.

PLUS D'INFO
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
L'IMPACT DE LA COMMUNICATION ENTRE LES PATIENTS ET LES FOURNISSEURS DE SOINS DE SANTÉ SUR L'EXPÉRIENCE DES PATIENTS AU CANADA : LES RÉSULTATS DE L'ENQUÊTE [EN ANGLAIS SEULEMENT]
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
Le Partenariat a publié un article intitulé The experience of patients with cancer during diagnosis and treatment planning: a descriptive study of Canadian survey results (L'expérience des patients atteints de cancer durant les phases de diagnostic du cancer et de planification du traitement : une étude descriptive des résultats d'une enquête canadienne) dans la dernière édition de la revue Current Oncology.
 
À l'aide de données d'enquête provenant de huit provinces, les constatations semblent indiquer que l'expérience des patients atteints de cancer pourrait être améliorée dans plusieurs domaines. Les constatations de l'enquête indiquent un besoin pour les cliniciens de recenser et de répondre aux besoins émotionnels des patients pendant la phase de diagnostic, notamment le fait d'effectuer des aiguillages appropriés vers des services de soutien. Il est essentiel de permettre une discussion ouverte avec les patients au sujet des options de traitement et d'aborder les préoccupations pratiques et les obstacles potentiels au traitement. Enfin, les rapports continus au sujet de l'expérience des patients au niveau du système permettent de mieux comprendre l'efficacité avec laquelle le système de lutte contre le cancer fournit des soins de haute qualité.
 
PLUS D'INFO
 
 
UNE NOUVELLE RESSOURCE DE SOUTIEN AU DEUIL EST LANCÉE LORS DE LA PREMIÈRE JOURNÉE NATIONALE DU DEUIL AU CANADA
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
Le 21 novembre, le Portail canadien en soins palliatifs a souligné la première Journée nationale du deuil en lançant DeuilDesEnfants.ca, une initiative nationale visant à aider les parents, les tuteurs et les aidants à discuter de la mort avec les enfants.

La ressource en ligne gratuite et bilingue DeuilDesEnfants.ca aborde ces sujets, ainsi que d'autres sujets difficiles, en plus de proposer des stratégies pratiques, des points de discussion et des vidéos de familles partageant des histoires personnelles.
 
L'outil a été conçu grâce au financement de l'Autorité canadienne pour les enregistrements Internet et de L'espoir, c'est la vie. Il s'appuie sur MyGrief.ca, une ressource en ligne destinée aux adultes endeuillés lancée en 2016 par le Portail canadien en soins palliatifs, grâce au financement du Partenariat canadien contre le cancer.
 
PLUS D'INFO
 
 
« CITIES DRIVING CHANGE » AU WORLD CANCER LEADERS' SUMMIT 2017 [EN ANGLAIS SEULEMENT]
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
Le World Cancer Leaders' Summit (sommet mondial des chefs de file de la lutte contre le cancer), organisé par l'Union internationale contre le cancer (UICC), s'est tenu du 13 au 15 novembre 2017 à Mexico, et portait sur le thème « Cities driving change » (Les villes, moteurs du changement). Des décideurs clés du monde entier ont cherché des façons d'établir des partenariats avec les villes pour respecter les engagements mondiaux en matière de prévention et de traitement du cancer d'ici 2025.
 
Le World Cancer Leaders' Summit s'est appuyé sur une dynamique croissante pour trouver des réponses mondiales et coordonnées au problème du cancer, après l'adoption de la résolution sur le cancer à l'Assemblée mondiale de la Santé 2017, qui est l'organe décisionnel de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, et l'inclusion de cibles pour les maladies non transmissibles dans les Objectifs de développement durable 2015-2030, qui sont dirigés par les Nations Unies.
 
PLUS D'INFO
 
 
QUELS SONT LES SEUILS OPTIMAUX DES TESTS IMMUNOCHIMIQUES FÉCAUX POUR LE DÉPISTAGE DU CANCER COLORECTAL AU CANADA? [EN ANGLAIS SEULEMENT]
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
Un article publié dans la revue Journal of Cancer Policy évalue les retombées sur la santé et l'économie de divers scénarios de dépistage du cancer colorectal. Le rapport montre que l'abaissement des seuils des tests immunochimiques fécaux (TIF) pourrait réduire l'incidence du cancer et les taux de mortalité, tout en améliorant le rapport coût-efficacité des programmes organisés de dépistage du cancer colorectal. Toutefois, l'abaissement de ces seuils exercera des pressions accrues sur les ressources en matière de coloscopie, surtout à court terme. Ces conclusions découlent des projections d'OncoSim – un outil de modélisation par microsimulation utilisé pour examiner diverses politiques en matière de lutte contre le cancer.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
Our lease is up! | The partnership is on the move
 
 
 
Partenariat canadien contre le cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
14‌5 ru‌e Ki‌ng Oue‌st, bur‌eau 90‌0 To‌ronto (Ont‌ario) M‌5H 1J‌8 info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
 
Désabonnement  |  Politique de confidentialité  |  S'abonner

La production de cette publication fut rendue possible grâce à une contribution financière de
Santé Canada, par l'intermédiaire du Partenariat contre le cancer. Les opinions exprimées dans
le présent document sont celles du Partenariat contre le cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER