Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
ENGLISH  |  FRANÇAIS
 
 
SHARE: twt fb linkedin
 
 
OCTOBER 2017
 
IN BRIEF
 
 
APPOINTMENT OF VICE-PRESIDENT, CANCER CONTROL AT THE PARTNERSHIP
 
The Partnership has announced the appointment of Dr. Craig Earle as Vice-President, Cancer Control effective November 1, 2017.

Dr. Earle is a medical oncologist, specializing in gastrointestinal oncology with a clinical practice at Sunnybrook Hospital’s Odette Cancer Centre and as Vice-President, he will continue to stay connected to frontline patient care.

He has a long-standing relationship with the Partnership, and has contributed to several programs over the past decade including cancer system performance reporting, the Canadian Partnership for Tomorrow Project, Oncosim and Canadian Cancer Clinical Trials Network. We look forward to continuing our work with Dr. Earle and are excited for all that he will accomplish in his new role.

Read more
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
FIRST NATIONS PEOPLE LESS LIKELY TO GET CANCER, BUT MORE LIKELY TO DIE FROM CANCER, THAN NON-FIRST NATIONS IN BRITISH COLUMBIA
 
First Nations people have an overall lower cancer incidence than non-First Nations people in British Columbia, but have poorer survival outcomes for almost every type of cancer.
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
The study, conducted by the BC Cancer Agency and the First Nations Health Authority, shows a 92 per cent higher incidence of cervical cancer among First Nations women. Findings suggest more culturally safe and geographically accessible cervical cancer screening services are needed across B.C.

The province has partnered with the First Nations Health Authority, B.C. Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres and Métis Nation to release an Indigenous cancer strategy, expected this fall.

Read more
 
 
NATIONAL REVIEW OF THE EIGHT MAJOR HEALTH ORGANIZATIONS ACROSS CANADA
 
The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, federal Minister of Health, recently announced a review of the eight federally funded pan-Canadian health organizations, including the Partnership, to provide recommendations and advice on how these organizations can continue to advance national health care priorities.

The review, led by external advisors Dr. Pierre-Gerlier Forest and Dr. Danielle Martin, provides an opportunity to highlight successes and showcase future plans to expand the impact of the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control. The external advisors visited the Partnership on October 17, and will present a summary report of key findings to Minister Petitpas Taylor in February 2018.

Read more
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
NEW INITIATIVE AIMS TO ENHANCE PATIENT INVOLVEMENT IN CANADIAN CANCER RESEARCH
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
The Patient Involvement Program, a new initiative of the Canadian Cancer Research Alliance, is set to launch during the fourth Canadian Cancer Research Conference taking place in Vancouver on November 5-7, 2017. Throughout the conference, fifteen patients, caregivers, and patient group representatives will join tailored sessions and debriefs with mentors, designed to help them better understand the many ways in which patients contribute to cancer research.

The Partnership has invited two of its 2017 Patient and Family Advisors (PFAs), Zeba Tayabee and Kathy Brooks, to participate in the program. PFAs play an integral role in our decision-making structures and help guide our work to orient the cancer control system to better meet patient and family needs.

Read more
 
 
PARTNERSHIP NAMED BEST DIGITAL WORKPLACE FOR COLLABORATION
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
The Partnership was named the Best Digital Workplace for collaboration at the 2017 Digital Transformation Awards. The award acknowledged the Partnership’s digital collaboration spaces, which use an integrated hub and spoke model to connect partners across Canada. This innovative approach has catapulted our ability to bring multiple groups together, deepen their engagement and strengthen relationships throughout the cancer community. Nicole Beben, Vice President, Strategy (third from the left) accepted the award, which was presented by Igloo Software.

Read more
 
 
Our lease is up! | The partnership is on the move
 
 
Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
‌1 ‌University Ave‌. Suite 3‌0‌‌0 Toronto, Ontario M‌5‌‌J 2‌P‌‌1 Canada
Email: info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
Unsubscribe  |  Privacy policy  |  Subscribe

Production of this publication has been made possible through a financial contribution from
Health Canada, through the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer. The views expressed herein
represent the views of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
 
View the web version
 
FRANÇAIS  |  ENGLISH
 
 
PARTAGER: twt fb linkedin
 
 
OCTOBRE 2017
 
IN BRIEF
 
 
NOMINATION DU VICE-PRÉSIDENT DE LA LUTTE CONTRE LE CANCER DU PARTENARIAT
 
Le Partenariat a annoncé la nomination du Dr Craig Earle à titre de vice-président de la lutte contre le cancer, à compter du 1er novembre 2017.

Le Dr Earle est un oncologue médical spécialisé en oncologie gastro intestinale qui exerce en pratique clinique au Odette Cancer Centre de l'hôpital Sunnybrook, et qui, à titre de vice-président, conservera son lien avec les soins aux patients de première ligne.

Le Dr Earle collabore depuis longtemps avec le Partenariat, et il a contribué à de nombreux programmes au cours des dix dernières années, notamment la création de rapports sur le rendement du système, le Projet de partenariat canadien Espoir pour demain, le modèle OncoSim et le Réseau canadien d'essais cliniques sur le cancer. Nous avons hâte de continuer à travailler avec le Dr Earle et nous sommes impatients de voir tout ce qu'il accomplira dans le cadre de ses nouvelles fonctions.

PLUS D'INFO
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
EN COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE, LES MEMBRES DES PREMIÈRES NATIONS SONT MOINS SUSCEPTIBLES D'AVOIR UN CANCER, MAIS PLUS SUSCEPTIBLES D'Y SUCCOMBER, QUE LES PERSONNES NON AUTOCHTONES [EN ANGLAIS SEULEMENT]
 
En Colombie-Britannique, les membres des Premières Nations présentent une incidence globale du cancer inférieure à celle observée chez les populations non autochtones de la province, mais leur taux de survie est moins élevé pour presque chaque type de cancer.
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
L'étude, réalisée par la BC Cancer Agency et la First Nations Health Authority, révèle que l'incidence du cancer du col de l'utérus est 92 % plus élevée parmi les femmes des Premières Nations. Ses conclusions mettent en lumière la nécessité d'offrir des services de dépistage du cancer mieux adaptés sur le plan culturel et plus accessibles sur le plan géographique à l'étendue de la C.-B.

La Colombie-Britannique fait équipe avec des groupes autochtones d'un bout à l'autre de la province pour élaborer une stratégie provinciale de lutte contre le cancer, qui devrait voir le jour cet automne.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
EXAMEN NATIONAL DES HUIT PRINCIPAUX ORGANISMES DE SANTÉ AU CANADA
 
L'honorable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, ministre fédérale de la Santé, a récemment annoncé la tenue d'une évaluation des huit organismes de santé pancanadiens financés par le gouvernement fédéral, y compris le Partenariat, afin d'offrir des recommandations et des conseils sur la façon dont ces organismes peuvent continuer à faire progresser les priorités nationales en matière de soins de santé.

L'évaluation est dirigée par le Dr Pierre Gerlier Forest et la Dre Danielle Martin, conseillers externes, et elle constitue une occasion de souligner les réussites dans ce domaine et de présenter les plans futurs pour étendre l'impact de la Stratégie canadienne de lutte contre le cancer. Les conseillers externes ont visité le Partenariat le 17 octobre et ils présenteront un rapport sommaire de leurs principales constatations à la ministre Petitpas Taylor en février 2018.

PLUS D'INFO
  Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
 
UNE NOUVELLE INITIATIVE VISE À ACCROÎTRE LA PARTICIPATION DES PATIENTS À LA RECHERCHE SUR LE CANCER AU CANADA
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report
 
Le Programme de participation des patients, une nouvelle initiative de l'Alliance canadienne pour la recherche sur le cancer, sera lancé pendant la quatrième Conférence canadienne sur la recherche sur le cancer, qui se tiendra à Vancouver du 5 au 7 novembre 2017. Tout au long de la conférence, quinze patients, aidants et représentants de groupes de patients participeront à des séances spéciales en présence de mentors dans le but de mieux comprendre les nombreuses façons dont les patients contribuent aux recherches sur le cancer.

Le Partenariat a invité deux de ses représentants des patients et des familles (RPF) en 2017, soit Zeba Tayabee et Kathy Brooks, à participer à ce programme. Les RPF jouent un rôle essentiel dans nos structures décisionnelles et nous aident à orienter notre travail visant à améliorer la réponse du système de lutte contre le cancer aux besoins des patients et des familles

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
LE PARTENARIAT EST NOMMÉ À TITRE DE MEILLEUR MILIEU DE TRAVAIL NUMÉRIQUE POUR LA COLLABORATION [EN ANGLAIS SEULEMENT]
 
Cancer System Performance | 2017 Report  
Le Partenariat a été nommé à titre de Meilleur milieu de travail numérique pour la collaboration lors des Digital Transformation Awards de 2017. Ce prix rend hommage au Partenariat pour ses espaces de collaboration numériques, qui utilisent un modèle en étoile pour relier les collaborateurs d'un bout à l'autre du Canada. Cette approche novatrice a grandement favorisé notre capacité de réunir des groupes multiples, d'approfondir leur engagement et de renforcer les relations au sein de la communauté entière de la lutte contre le cancer. Nicole Beben, vice-présidente, Stratégie (troisième à partir de la gauche) a reçu le prix, qui a été présenté par Igloo Software.

PLUS D'INFO
 
 
Our lease is up! | The partnership is on the move
 
 
 
Partenariat canadien contre le cancer
Tel: 1-877-360-1665
1‌, avenue University, Bureau‌ 3‌00, Toronto, Onta‌rio M5‌J 2‌P1
Email: info@partnershipagainstcancer.ca
 
 
 
 
Désabonnement  |  Politique de confidentialité  |  S'abonner

La production de cette publication fut rendue possible grâce à une contribution financière de
Santé Canada, par l'intermédiaire du Partenariat contre le cancer. Les opinions exprimées dans
le présent document sont celles du Partenariat contre le cancer.
 
CANADIAN PARTNERSHIP AGAINST CANCER